Well this gets to be my first not rave review!

First of all, I LOVE Greek mythology. The story of Persephone and Hades has always appealed to me, especially spins people make where they are a happy couple. I know this can annoy people with the whole Stockholm Syndrome thing, but if you spin a good love story, I don’t care!!!

I liked the premise of this story. The series is called Modern Descendants, and what it seems Ms. Lore (who apparently is also L. B. Dunbar, who I do not know) is recreating Greek mythology with a modern day twist with the descendants of the Greek gods.

The Hades in this story is the son of Hades and Persephone of the original Greek mythology. We’ll call them Hades Sr. and Persephone Sr. Persephone is the daughter of Demi, and some unknown man.

Possible spoiler alert, but I think Demi is supposed to be Demeter, but not 100% sure as she never claims Persephone Sr. as her daughter. But that’s probably a good thing because then Persephone Jr. would be Hades Jr.’s half-aunt. But then Greek mythology never cared overly much about questionable relationships, so what do I know?

Hades Jr. is a prince of the Underworld and rescues Persephone Jr. from an attack, bring her to his world where she is basically trapped, though as things evolve, you kinda question just how trapped she should be.

Probably about the first half of this book didn’t overly appeal to me. I didn’t mind Hades Jr. for the most part. He got a big crush, saved the girl, and through Underworld problems can’t let her go. However, Persephone’s emotions didn’t work for me. Part of me can appreciate her not being a whiny, woe is me, character, however she doesn’t seem to really try to escape or anything. It’s like she vaguely thinks about missing her family, but there is no real action to her thoughts. I get finding Hades attractive and thinking maybe this is where she belongs, but she never felt like a realistic character for me.

Toward the end I felt that this story got better. The second half was very different from anything in mythology, and you can start to see some real potential for the relationship.

However, SPOILER ALERT!!! the story doesn’t have a happy ending. It doesn’t have a sad ending either, but it fails miserably at concluding. I don’t know if it’s because it wants you to get the next book (which is the retelling of Zeus and Hera… weird) and will answer all of your questions there, or what. There is some foreshadowing that never comes to light as well. So, basically, I don’t care about Zeus and Hera. I read this getting excited about Hades, (BTW, Goddess of Spring by P.C. Cast, FANTASTIC) and it just didn’t work for me. To be fair I didn’t think it was bad. It was written fine and everything, but the ending just didn’t work for me. I want a happily ever after. I don’t care it it’s realistic or not. That’s what I want. So I really don’t have any big plans to read more books by Elda Lore.

Leave a Reply

