So first thing to get out there, this is not a romance novel. I tend to read romances, but great books are great books. I can honestly say it was never even my intention to read this book. I know it came out as a movie, which I haven’t seen, though I want to, especially now that I’ve read the book. I was on a nine hour car ride with my brother when he opted to instead listen to an audio book instead of music. I have never listened to an audio book before, but I did enjoy it. Too bad I didn’t manage to finish it before we got to our destination.

I since purchased this book for my dad for his birthday, and he then sent it to me so I could finish it, and it’s awesome!

There is a lot of science going on, but you don’t have to understand it to enjoy the full effect of the novel. There is so many emotions you feel.

If you do not know anything about the Martian, it follows primarily Mark Watney. He ends up stranded on Mars. From there he needs to decide is he going to escape? Commit suicide? What is going to happen? And in the mean time, the world is watching (not quite a reality show, but pushing it)!

A lot of the story is in Mark’s first person POV when he’s writing in his log book. However there is also a lot of third person, which is pretty much anytime you are not reading from the log book. Watney is clever and witty with his writing and his problem solving capabilities. The emotions that you feel as you read run the gamut. First of all, how would you feel to be stuck on a planet far from home with possibly no way to get back? But Watney is a survivor, and he manages to keep his humor, which is not an easy thing to do when faced with such a tough situation.

And while Watney is on Mars, you have NASA trying to figure out how to rescue him. There are decisions that need to be made. Is it worth the emotional or financial cost? What is something goes wrong? Just how much should everyone know?

The whole time I read, I just needed to know, would he make it home or not? It’s an adventure, and a great one. And if you are curious, there is a VERY small blip of romance, but for the most part, nada. So if you only read romances, this is probably not for you. But if you like an adventure, it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

