This is the first book in Terri L. Austin’s Rose Strickland Mystery series. It is written in first person from Rosalyn “Rose” Strickland’s POV.

I really liked this book. Rose was born into a wealthy family, however due to her desire to blaze her own trail and not follow the path her parents, mainly her mother, laid out for her, she was stripped of her access to the family money and found herself turned out. She is now working as a waitress.

In this book, one of Rose’s best friends, Axton Graystone, asks her to watch his backpack. Shortly after this he goes missing. The police refuse to take it seriously, therefore Rose decides it’s up to her to find him.

Rose has no detective experience, however she is willing to find people and ask them some tough questions. She also has some surprising connections she can make.

And as I am a huge fan of the romance variety, there are a couple of perspective individuals in this book. There is Dane Harker, an attorney that Rose went to elementary school with whom she hasn’t seen since elementary school. There there is also this mystery man with gold eyes who seems rather shady.

This is an excellent book. I can’t say that I have much experience with mystery novels, so I don’t know how well this book falls into that category, but it’s a fun adventure. Romance is definitely not the main focus in this book, but it’s still there and it’s good. My only issue with this is that sometimes I feel Rose gets ahead of herself and it lucky no one kills her.

I inhaled this book trying to figure out what was going to happen next.

I will add I find it weird that at the end of the books are reader discussions. Maybe this is a think, but I didn’t like it. Not that you have to read it at least, but I was like, why’s this here?

Leave a Reply

